
Kansas State Board of Nursing 

 

 The KSBN is a regulatory agency that 

licenses Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses 

and Licensed Mental Health Technicians.  The role of 

KSBN is to protect the citizens of Kansas.  The 

regulatory process and licensing assures citizens of 

Kansas that nurses and licensed mental health 

technicians have met minimum competence 

requirements.  Testing establishes minimum 

competence.  Statutes and regulations found in the 

Kansas Nurse Practice Act (KNPA) define your scope 

of practice and outline unacceptable conduct.  There 

are actions for which your license may be called into 

question.  When a licensee's conduct is questioned, 

KSBN has authority to investigate and collect 

information.  If a sworn complaint is received KSBN 

is required to investigate you.  

 

K.S.B.N.'s Scope of Authority 

 

 If the KSBN believes a violation of the 

KNPA (K.S.A. 65-1120) has occurred, it may 

commence an administrative action against your 

license.  The Board through an administrative action 

may deny, revoke, suspend, limit, or publicly or 

privately censure a license.  The Board may also levy 

fines (K.S.A.74-1110) against a license.  The first 

offense is not to exceed $1,000.00, second offense is 

not to exceed $2,000.00, and third and subsequent 

offenses are not to exceed $3,000.00. 

 

Kansas Administrative Procedure Act 

 

  The KSBN is a regulatory agency.  Being 

licensed is a privilege not a right.  A license once 

obtained, is a form of a property right.  The Board 

takes action against this property right not the person, 

but the action against the license may affect the 

licensee.  Because the license is a property right the 

KSBN must afford you certain constitutional 

protections. All disciplinary actions before the KSBN 

are subject to the Kansas Administrative Procedure 

Act (KAPA).  The KAPA is a set of statutes that 

outline the procedures the KSBN must follow.  It 

provides for due process.  This includes things such as 

reasonable notice, fair and impartial hearing, and right 

to representation, right to question witnesses or present 

evidence.  KAPA is applied to all regulatory agencies 

of varying sizes. 

 

 

What Happens If I Apply During An Investigation? 

 

 

 We receive applications for initial licensure, 

endorsement, renewal and reinstatement.  Your 

completed application is a request for an order or a 

license.  KSBN must acknowledge receipt and status 

of your application within 30 days.  If a question is 

raised and you are investigated, KSBN must complete 

the process in 90 days or “as is practicable”.  KSBN 

licenses over 70,000 people and investigates an 

average of 2300 cases per year.  The majority of 

requests/applications are processed immediately.  If 

not immediately processed, you will receive a letter of 

notification from KSBN on your application status. 

 

 

Informal Resolutions 

 

 

 The committee may request the licensee to 

sign an agreement and/or meet conditions designed to 

impose an educational remedy.  In this way the Board's 

primary purpose of protecting the public is met and the 

licensee's practice is improved and maintained. 

Formal Discipline Process 

 

 The process can begin one of two ways. First, 

an applicant may receive a document called 

"Summary Order".  This document states the facts 

and legal reasons for action on a license.  If the 

licensee disagrees he/she may request a hearing.  

Second, a licensee may be served with a petition 

stating facts and law and asking for action upon the 

license.   

 The request for hearing by the licensee or 

petition filed by the Attorney General is followed by 

a notice of hearing which sets a time and date for the 

licensee to appear and defend.  The notice gives 

directions on how to ask for additional time (called a 

continuance) if a licensee is unable to appear on the 

date set.  The notice also warns that if a licensee fails 

to appear or contact the KSBN the matter will 

proceed, and judgement may be entered in the matter 

affecting the license. Documents and statements may 

be requested by the licensee or the Board’s attorney 

and are exchanged in a process known as discovery. 

 You may appear in front of the entire Board, 

a panel of Board members or the Board’s appointed 

hearing officer.  A licensee may represent yourself or 

be represented by an attorney.  The proceeding is 

recorded.  Oaths are administered to those who 

testify. Each party can require witnesses to appear 

and testify. Each party may cross-examine witnesses 

presented by the other side.  Each party may submit 

exhibits.  The hearing officer / panel may also ask 

questions. Evidence may be written or oral and must 

be relevant to the claim.  Hearsay can be introduced 

and is to be weighed appropriately.  Evidence 

submitted varies from case to case. If your fitness to 

practice nursing is in question, factors to be 

considered include but are not limited to:  (1)  danger 

to the public health safety and welfare,  (2)  the 

present moral fitness, (3) your consciousness of what 

you did wrong and the effect on profession, (4) what 

you did and are doing for rehabilitation (5) nature and 

seriousness of misconduct, (6) current conduct, (7) 

time elapsed since prior discipline or criminal 



activity, (8) character, maturity and experience (9) 

present competence and skill. These points are not all 

inclusive. 

 At the conclusion the hearing officer/panel 

weighs and considers the evidence and renders a 

decision.  A written order, which consists of findings 

of fact, conclusions of law, and any sanctions imposed, 

is served upon the parties after the decision.  Costs of 

the proceeding may be charged to the applicant or 

licensee.  The written order will state the time when it 

becomes effective and provide notice to both sides of 

their appeal rights. 

 

Appeal Process 

 

 Within a set period of time the parties have 

the right to request to have a decision reviewed by the 

Board. If the Board affirms the decision, or if the 

Board declines to review the decision, or makes a 

decision not liked by either party, either party may 

appeal to District Court.  An appeal in District Court is 

subject to an act called the Kansas Judicial Review Act 

(KJRA). 

 Appeals to District Court for the KSBN are 

not tried again.  The KJRA sets out the court's scope of 

review.  The court considers the party’s stated appeal 

grounds and decides whether the KSBN's order/record 

is supported by substantial evidence.  Once the District 

Court enters its order either party, if not satisfied, has 

one more opportunity for appeal to the Court of 

Appeals or Supreme Court of the State.  There are 

established time lines in which such requests or notices 

must be filed. 
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Disclaimer 

 The information provided in this pamphlet is 

not intended to be legal advice or a complete 

explanation of legal rights. 

Note: Statutes available at https://ksbn.kansas.gov  

and www.kansas.gov.  
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